INEC bows to court order, names Jimoh Ibrahim as Ondo PDP candidate



In what is seen as complaince to a recent Federal High Court order, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has picked Mr Jimoh Ibrahim Folorunso as the official candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party for the November 26 governorship election in Ondo State.


The commission refused to recognize Mr Eyitayo Jegede of the Senator Ahmed Makarfi faction of the party supported by Governor Olusegun Mimiko. Jegede was a former Commissioner for Justice under the Mimiko administration.



In the list of governorship candidates published on its site, on Thursday, Jegede’s name was conspicuously missing while Jimoh Ibrahim Folorunsho featured prominently for the PDP.


Also listed as running mate for Ibrahim is Alabi Ebenezer Omotayo.


INEC, it was gathered, decided to name Jimoh Ibrahim as the PDP candidate for the poll because of a federal high court order which expressly ordered INEC to recognize Ibrahim as the PDP candidate.


The commission also listed Mr Oluwarotimi Akeredolu as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC).


The Commission, in a statement signed by its Secretary, Mrs Auguta Ogakwu on Thursday in Abuja, also released the names of 26 others as candidates cleared for the Nov. 26 state election.


INEC, which listed Alfred Ajayi as running mate to Akeredolu, stated that Ibrahim and his deputy, Alabi Omotayo, were cleared on court order.


The other 26 cleared candidates are Amuda Oladare (Accord); Yinka Orokoto (AA); Francis Ogunjumelo (ACPN); Olusola Oke, (AD); Margareta Ogunyoku-Ojo (ADC); Oluyi Helen (APA) and Francis Alao (APGA).


Also cleared are Funmilayo Ataunoko (BNPP); Fasua Oyeleye (CPP); Adeeyo Bolorundaro (DPC); Falana Julianna (DPP); Odedeyi John (HDP); Samuel Akogunrin (ID); Daniel Ogungbemi (KOWA) and Adeoti Taye (LP).


Other candidates on list are Obayoriju Abass (NCP); Oluwadare Bada (NNPP); Ayibiowu Ige (NUP); Oluwasegun Odidi (DPC); Adeniyan Daniel (PPA); Orunmoluyi Olagbegi (PPN) and Arigbede Gbenga (PRP).


Others are Olu Agunloye (SDP); Olugbenga Falaiye (UDP); Aidi Elijah (UPN) and Anthony Adeniranye (YDP).


According to the Commission, the publication is in accordance with section 34 of the Electoral Act 2010(as amended)

Do You Have Any Story, Press Release, Events Coverage Or You Want An Advert Placement?

Call The DailyBells Nigeria Today On Our Hotlines +234 802 523 7926,  +234 806 017 6677 Or WHATSAPP On +234 802 523 7926

Email: Or

Thanks. MGT

All Rights Reserved. This Material And Any Other Material On THE DAILYBELLS NIGERIA Should Not Be Reproduced, Published Broadcast, Written Or Distributed In Full Or In Part, Without Written Permission From The Editor/CEO..

%d bloggers like this: