Osinbajo Re-Names Federal Varsity After Late Gen. Adebayo

Acting President Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, has announced the decision of the Federal Government to rename the Federal University Oye-Ekiti, after late General Adeyinka Adebayo.

The University is now to be known as The Adeyinka Adebayo Federal University, Oye-Ekiti.

This disclosure was made on Saturday by the Acting President at the funeral service held at the All Saints Anglican Church, Iyin-Ekiti.

The government will accordingly send a bill for an amendment of the Act establishing the University to the National Assembly to reflect the new name of the University.

According to Osinbajo, the resolve to honour the late general was as a result of his exemplary leadership qualities and his astute belief in the peaceful existence of the country.


Osinbajo recalled how the late Adebayo’s technical advice to the then military government helped to put the federal troops ahead of the rebels during the civil war in 1966.

He said were it not for the bravery and exceptional military professionalism exhibited by Adebayo, Nigeria would probably not be a united nation today.

In his sermon preceding the burial, the Primate of the Anglican Church of Nigeria, Nicholas Okoh, said though the exit of Adebayo at 89 may be sad and unpleasant to many, death was a necessity that no mortal could avoid.

Okoh, who was represented by the Dean, Church of Nigeria and Archbishop of Ondo Province, George Lasebikan, said it was saddening that many Nigerians were desperate to acquire wealth at all cost.

He urged Nigerians to change their attitude to life and embrace humility and contentment for the nation to move forward.

Dignitaries at the burial service included governors of Ekiti, Ayo Fayose; Oyo, Sen. Abiola Ajimobi; Ogun, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun; Edo, Godwin Obaseki; and Ondo, Mr Rotimi Akeredolu.

Also present were former governor of Ekiti, Dr Kayode Fayemi, as well as his Edo and Ogun counterparts, Mr Adams Oshiomhole and Chief Gbenga Daniel respectively.

Also in attendance were former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Chief Olu Falae; retired Lt.-Gen. Alani Akinriade, retired Lt.-Gen. Azubuike Ihejirika, Amb. Bamidele Olumilua, retired Gen. David Jemibewon, Dr Chris Ngige, and Gen. Ike Nwachukwu.

The list also included business mogul, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, Minister of Labour, Dr Chris Ngige and Central Bank Governor, Godwin Emefiele.

Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Chief Lucky Igbinedion, retired Gen. Zamani Lekwot, retired Col. Theophilus Bamigboye, Chief James Ibori, Chief Reuben Fasoranti and Chief Ayo Fasanmi were also there.

NAN reports that the remains of Adebayo were committed to mother earth at his private residence in Iyin Ekiti with full military honours.

Do You Have Any Story, Press Release, Events Coverage Or You Want An Advert Placement?

Call The DailyBells Nigeria Today On Our Hotlines +234 802 523 7926,  +234 806 017 6677 Or WHATSAPP On +234 802 523 7926

Email: dailybellsnigeria@yahoo.com Or megacrown1@yahoo.com.

Thanks. MGT

All Rights Reserved. This Material And Any Other Material On THE DAILYBELLS NIGERIA Should Not Be Reproduced, Published Broadcast, Written Or Distributed In Full Or In Part, Without Written Permission From The Editor/CEO..

%d bloggers like this: